mah shasan /second logo Mahasanskruti Pune film foundation

Marathi Competition Winners

Marathi Cinema Awards

One of the most important objectives of PIFF is to give regional and indigenous cinema a global platform. With this in mind, we pick 7 of the best Marathi Films released in the year for the Marathi Competition. PIFF is the only festival where an international jury awards Marathi films. These films represent contemporary thought, culture and society in Maharashtra. They bring to fore young talent and experimental forms of filmmaking in the state. The list of previous award winners reads like a who’s who of Marathi Cinema.

A number of awards are given in this category. The Government of Maharashtra gives the “Sant Tukaram” Best International Marathi Film Award (Rs. 5 Lakh). The Akhil Bharatiya Chitrapat Mahamandal gives away the following awards – Best Film Director (Rs. 25,000), Best Film Actor male (Rs. 25,000), Best Film Actor female (Rs. 25,000), Best Screenplay (Rs. 25,000) and Best Cinematographer (Rs. 25,000).

Government of Maharashtra Award Winners

Year Sant Tukaram-Best Marathi Film
Rs.5 Lacs
21st PIFF, 2023 Madaar
20th PIFF, 2022 POTRA
19th PIFF, 2021 Porga Majetay
18th PIFF, 2020 Anandi Gopal
17th PIFF, 2019 Chumbak
16th PIFF, 2018 Pimpal
15th PIFF, 2017 Lathe Joshi
14th PIFF, 2016 Rangaa Patangaa
13th PIFF, 2015 Elizabeth Ekadashi, Killa
12th PIFF, 2014 Fandry
11th PIFF, 2013 Kaksparsha
10th PIFF, 2012 Ha Bharat Maza
9th PIFF, 2011 Baboo Band Baaja
8th PIFF, 2010 Natrang
7th PIFF, 2009 Gabhricha Paus
6th PIFF, 2008 Tingya
5th PIFF, 2007 Shevri
4th PIFF, 2006 Dombivali Fast

PIFF special award winners

Year Jury Special Mention To
20th PIFF, 2022 A.V. Prafullachandra